About - Building & Sanctuary
The LAPC sanctuary is intended to reflect the belief in worship as a communal experience for clergy and laity alike.
Stained Glass windows
In keeping with the austere decor favored by most Reformed churches, the original windows in LAPC’s sanctuary featured simple geometric patterns. It was not until the 1890s that our Tiffany art glass windows were installed. The founding pastor, Dr Cuyler, had originally objected to these newer designs as being too ostentatious until Louis Comfort Tiffany himself persuaded him to serve as the model for the face of St Paul in the large window over the Lafayette Ave entrance. LAPC’s second pastor, Dr Gregg, was well-read in Russian iconography and in Sanskrit: it has been hypothesized that the eight Tiffany windows lining the east and west walls were arranged in an order that reflects the seven chakhras of kundalini yoga, with the eighth window, based on Raphael's "Transfiguration."
Cloud of Witnesses Murals
Elise Woodward Stutzer left a bequest in 1976 that enabled the church to commission the "Cloud of Witnesses" murals (Hebrews 12:1-2) that now surround the sanctuary. Hank Prussing, then a recent graduate of Pratt Institute, conceived the mural to reflect the diversity of the community and the church. He went out into the streets of Fort Greene, taking photographs of neighborhood people and activities. In contrast to the stained-glass windows which showcase the reverence and grandeur of worship, the mural brings home the essential role the surrounding community plays to this vibrant church's continuing mission of service. To this day, people still visit the church and find familiar faces on the murals: images of family, friends, and themselves.
1910 Austin Pipe Organ
The organ is a four manual, fifty-six rank instrument built by the Austin Organ company in 1910, midway through the half-century career of Dr John Hyatt Brewer, organist at LAPC from 1881 to 1931. The mahogany case is from the previous organ, a Hook & Hastings of 1886. Some of the pipes in the present instrument are from this original organ. During the major church renovations in the 1960s, a new console was installed, much of the disposition of the organ was altered, and new stops added. The console, originally in the balcony, was moved to the floor of the sanctuary in 1976.
We are now in the process of restoring the organ to do service for future generations. See http://www.lafayetteorgan.com/organ/Welcome.html